Let’s Talk about Herbs II

rosemary.jpg

Hey there, my second blog about herbs! I love the smell of fresh rosemary! It is just wonderful and pretty easy to grow as well! Today I’m gonna talk about how to grow and some of the uses for rosemary.

Rosemary is fairly easy to root in water this has been the most successful method for me. You can buy a small plant already established if you are in a hurry for it. If you know someone with a plant you can simply get a cutting and root it in water. Leave it in the water and check it after a couple of weeks and you should noticethe roots beginning to form, then simply put it in a small pot in some well draining potting soil. Put it in a sunny window and give it a little water and watch it grow. When it is established then you can transfer it into the ground in your garden or grow in a larger container outside.  Only water it when the soil is dry, I’m here in Florida and my plant outside my front door does well with no care other than trimming it once in a while. Our climate and well drained soil seems perfect for it. So it is zero maintenance once it is established! Over watering will lead to root rot so don’t do that!

Here are some uses for rosemary!

LEMON & ROSEMARY STOVE TOP POTPOURRI

2 lemons, sliced
2 sprigs rosemary
1 tablespoon vanilla

Place ingredients into pot and fill with water to about 1 inch below brim and simmer. lasts about 3 days.

Rosemary Body Scrub

1 1/2 cups of Epsom salt
2 Rosemary springs, finely chopped
2-3 drops Lemon essential oil
3 Tbsp of Coconut oil, melted
2 Tbsp lemon zest

Instructions

Mix everything in a large bowl. Pour into a single airtight jar or into a couple of smaller jars. lasts about two to 4 months

ce8d24bbe16eefe222dcb3306634fb43.jpg

There are endless recipe online that use rosemary! I like to pick fresh stems and strip the leaves and use the stem as a skewer on chicken breast then grill. The woody stems infuse the chicken with the rosemary! It is delicious and super easy!

Some of the healing benefits of rosemary 

  • anti aging
  • antibacterial
  • anti depressant
  • anti inflamitory
  • antiseptic
  • cancer prventer
  • aid in digestion
  • hair health
  • improves blood flow
  • improves memory
  • mood enhancer

Rosemary is a wonder plant in my opinion and nothing beats it’s fabulous fragrance! Join me again and we will explore together the wonders of my little floral filled world! Please follow my blog and visit my website http://www.shanannecainflorist.com

Leave a comment