Livin’ on the edge….of the forest II

Change? What change? It is subtle change around here, and that’s a good thing! Slow and steady still wins the race often times. Here you will find a couple of photos of downtown Umatilla. Not really much difference huh? If you have lived around these parts for the last 50 years, you might notice the changes to my little  hometown.central ave looking south.jpg

20171020_100658.jpg

There is something missing from the second photo, the railroad tracks. The tracks were always there when I was growing up. They crossed the southbound lane of State road 19 and ran north right through the middle of town. When we would walk to school from Mrs. Smith’s daycare we would cross 19 at the police station, cross the tracks and over to the elementary school.  In the afternoon we would make the trip back.  It always seemed so far, it’s only a couple of blocks, if that, but traveling on little 6  year old feet that can seem like miles. I remember the tracks being there because I fell one afternoon coming back from school. I tripped on the tracks and skinned myself up good. The policeman on duty scooped me up out of the road and delivered me back to the daycare. I was alright but I’ve not forgotten it!

Speaking of trains and tracks our library is housed in what used to be the old train depot. There is a bright orange caboose sitting right out front, a big nod to the railroad that once delivered so many people and goods to and from the river, inland and beyond. library.jpg

The powers that be decided some time ago that those tracks were no longer necessary here. They were removed and left us with some of the most lovely of medians in all of Lake county, in my opinion of course. If you drive through Umatilla north on State road 19 it is beautiful! Beautifully  landscaped islands where the train used roll through town literally.  Join me again for a little history and perhaps some mystery.  Check out our shop’s website http://www.shanannecainflorist.com and our facebook page. 

One thought on “Livin’ on the edge….of the forest II

Leave a comment